EV charging in Tasmania
Across Tasmania there are 67 charging locations covering 98 charge points — 5% of the national total.
31 sites (46%) charge at 50 kW or more and 6 reach 150 kW or higher, putting Tasmania below the national fast-charging share of 55%. The fastest site in the state is Evie Networks - Westbury (Evie) at 350 kW, in Westbury. 6 named networks operate here, with Chargefox, Electric Highway Tasmania and Evie carrying the most sites, and 14 locations are listed as free to use. We have detailed pages for 9 towns and suburbs in Tasmania with two or more charging locations, the largest being Hobart, Devonport and Launceston.
Towns and suburbs in Tasmania
Every Tasmania locality with two or more public charging locations. Numbers show mapped locations and the fastest charger in each.
- Bicheno 2 locations · up to 50 kW
- Buckland 2 locations · up to 22 kW
- Devonport 3 locations · up to 250 kW
- Hobart 7 locations · up to 50 kW
- Kingston 2 locations · up to 120 kW
- Latrobe 2 locations · up to 22 kW
- Launceston 3 locations · up to 50 kW
- Waratah 2 locations · up to 24 kW
- Westbury 2 locations · up to 350 kW
Fastest charging sites in Tasmania
| Charging location | Locality | Operator | Max power | Connectors | Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Evie Networks - Westbury | Westbury | Evie | 350 kW | CCS (Type 2) ×2 CHAdeMO ×2 | 60c/kWh |
| Evie Networks - Brighton | Brighton | Evie | 350 kW | CCS (Type 2) ×2 CHAdeMO ×2 | 60c/kWh |
| Evie Networks - Campbell Town | Campbell Town | Evie | 350 kW | CCS (Type 2) ×2 CHAdeMO ×2 | 60c/kWh |
| Chargefox Kings Meadows | Kings Meadows | Chargefox | 350 kW | CCS (Type 2) ×2 CHAdeMO ×2 | AUD 0.65 per kWh |
| Devonport Supercharger | Devonport | Tesla (Tesla-only charging) | 250 kW | CCS (Type 2) ×3 | $0.52/kWh |
| NRMA - Deloraine | Elizabeth Town | NRMA | 180 kW | CHAdeMO ×1 CCS (Type 2) ×3 | $0.74/kWh |
| Electric Highway Tasmania - Kingston | Kingston | Chargefox | 120 kW | CCS (Type 2) ×2 CHAdeMO ×2 | $0.40 - $0.50/kWh |
| Chargefox - Electric Highway Tasmania | Exeter | Chargefox | 80 kW | CCS (Type 2) ×1 CHAdeMO ×1 | $0.70 per kWh (at all times) |
| EHT - Sandy Bay | — | Electric Highway Tasmania | 80 kW | CCS (Type 2) ×2 CHAdeMO ×2 | 0.25c/kWh + 0.25c/min (peak) [or 0.15c/min off-peak] |
| Electric Highway Tasmania - Oatlands | Oatlands | Electric Highway Tasmania | 80 kW | CCS (Type 2) ×2 CHAdeMO ×2 | 0.25c/kWh + 0.25c/min (peak) [or 0.15c/min off-peak] |
| Legana Park Drive | — | Evie | 75 kW | CCS (Type 2) ×4 | 0.62/kWh + 0.09/kWh (9:00 AM-9:00 PM) |
| George Town Council Chambers | George Town | Chargefox | 75 kW | CCS (Type 2) ×1 CHAdeMO ×1 | $0.40 - $0.55/kWh |
| Electric Highway Tasmania - Dunalley | Dunalley | Chargefox | 60 kW | CCS (Type 2) ×1 CHAdeMO ×1 | $0.40 - $0.50/kWh |
| Tas Hydro Power Station Heritage Site free | Waddamana | Chargefox | 60 kW | CCS (Type 2) ×1 CHAdeMO ×1 | Free |
| Bicheno Town Centre | Bicheno | Not stated | 50 kW | CCS (Type 2) ×1 CHAdeMO ×1 Type 2 (Socket Only) ×1 | See https://electrona.au/evc/bchno/bchno-001.html |
| Kingston Town Shopping Centre | Kingston | Evie | 50 kW | CCS (Type 2) ×2 CHAdeMO ×2 | $0.45 per kWh |
| Electric Highway Tasmania - Swansea | Swansea | Electric Highway Tasmania | 50 kW | CCS (Type 2) ×1 CHAdeMO ×1 Type 2 (Socket Only) ×1 | 25c/kWh + 25c/min |
| EHT - St Helens | St Helens | Electric Highway Tasmania | 50 kW | CCS (Type 2) ×1 CHAdeMO ×1 Type 2 (Socket Only) ×1 | 25c/kWh + 25c/min |
| Multi-storey Car Park | Devonport | Electric Highway Tasmania | 50 kW | CCS (Type 2) ×1 CHAdeMO ×1 Type 2 (Socket Only) ×1 | 25c/kWh + 25c/min |
| Paterson St East Car Park | Launceston | Chargefox | 50 kW | CHAdeMO ×1 CCS (Type 2) ×1 | AUD 0.50 per kWh |
| 10 Esplanade | Strahan | Chargefox | 50 kW | CCS (Type 2) ×1 CHAdeMO ×1 Type 2 (Socket Only) ×1 | $0.40 - $0.52/kWh |
| Jackson Volkswagen | South Launceston | Chargefox | 50 kW | CCS (Type 2) ×1 CHAdeMO ×1 | AUD 0.50 per kWh |
| Audi Centre Hobart | Hobart | Chargefox | 50 kW | CCS (Type 2) ×1 | AUD 0.50 per kWh |
| North Terrace, Burnie | Burnie | Electric Highway Tasmania | 50 kW | CCS (Type 2) ×1 CHAdeMO ×1 Type 2 (Socket Only) ×1 | 25c/kWh + 25c/min |
| Electric Highway Tasmania - Geeveston | Geeveston | Electric Highway Tasmania | 50 kW | CHAdeMO ×1 CCS (Type 2) ×1 | 25c/kWh + 15c-25c/min |
| Dunn Place Car Park | Hobart | Not stated | 50 kW | CCS (Type 2) ×1 CHAdeMO ×1 | Usual parking fees apply |
| Electric Highway Tasmania - Queenstown | Queenstown | Electric Highway Tasmania | 50 kW | CCS (Type 2) ×1 CHAdeMO ×1 Type 2 (Socket Only) ×1 | 25c/kWh + 25c/min |
| Derwent Bridge Rest Area | Derwent Bridge | Electric Highway Tasmania | 50 kW | CCS (Type 2) ×1 CHAdeMO ×1 Type 2 (Socket Only) ×1 | 25c/kWh + 25c/min |
| Scottsdale Art Gallery Cafe | Scottsdale | Chargefox | 50 kW | CHAdeMO ×1 CCS (Type 2) ×1 | $0.50 per kWh 7am-10am/4pm-9pm Monday - Friday, $0.4… |
| Mood Food New Norfolk | New Norfolk | Chargestar (AU) | 50 kW | CHAdeMO ×1 CCS (Type 2) ×1 | Not published |
Free charging in Tasmania
14 locations in Tasmania are listed with no charge to use. Access conditions still vary — many are customer-only or need an app.
| Charging location | Locality | Operator | Max power | Connectors | Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Brighton Council Chambers free | Old Beach | Chargefox | 22 kW | Type 2 (Socket Only) ×1 | Free |
| Tas Hydro Power Station Heritage Site free | Waddamana | Chargefox | 60 kW | CCS (Type 2) ×1 CHAdeMO ×1 | Free |
| Genr8 free | Latrobe | Not stated | 22 kW | Type 2 (Socket Only) ×1 | Free |
| Cradle Mountain Visitor Centre free | — | Not stated | 11 kW | Type 2 (Socket Only) ×1 | Free |
| Bischoff Hotel free | Waratah | Not stated | 8 kW | Tesla (Model S/X) ×2 Type 2 (Socket Only) ×1 | Free |
| TasPorts - Fishermans Market free | Hobart | Not stated | 22 kW | Type 2 (Socket Only) ×1 | Free |
| TasPorts - Hunter Street free | Hobart | Not stated | 22 kW | Type 2 (Socket Only) ×1 | Free |
| York Street West Car Park free | Launceston | Electric Highway Tasmania | 22 kW | Type 2 (Socket Only) ×1 Tesla (Model S/X) ×1 | Free |
| TUU Car Park free | Hobart | Not stated | 22 kW | Type 2 (Socket Only) ×2 | Free |
| Sheffield Visitor Information Centre free | Sheffield | Chargefox | 24 kW | CCS (Type 2) ×1 CHAdeMO ×1 Type 2 (Socket Only) ×1 | Free |
| House of Anvers free | Latrobe | Not stated | 22 kW | Type 2 (Socket Only) ×1 Type 2 (Tethered Connector) ×1 | Free |
| Mount Field Visitor Centre free | National Park | Not stated | 22 kW | Type 2 (Socket Only) ×1 | Free |
| Macquarie Point Car Park free | Hobart | Not stated | 22 kW | Type 2 (Socket Only) ×2 | Free |
| Hobart Central Car Park free | Hobart | Not stated | 7 kW | Type 1 (J1772) ×2 | Free |
Charging site pages in Tasmania
Detail pages for the 24 highest-powered Tasmania sites, each with connectors, pricing and the five nearest alternatives.
- 10 Esplanade Strahan · 50 kW
- Audi Centre Hobart Hobart · 50 kW
- Bicheno Town Centre Bicheno · 50 kW
- Chargefox - Electric Highway Tasmania Exeter · 80 kW
- Chargefox Kings Meadows Kings Meadows · 350 kW
- Derwent Bridge Rest Area Derwent Bridge · 50 kW
- Devonport Supercharger Devonport · 250 kW
- Dunn Place Car Park Hobart · 50 kW
- EHT - St Helens St Helens · 50 kW
- Electric Highway Tasmania - Dunalley Dunalley · 60 kW
- Electric Highway Tasmania - Geeveston Geeveston · 50 kW
- Electric Highway Tasmania - Kingston Kingston · 120 kW
- Electric Highway Tasmania - Oatlands Oatlands · 80 kW
- Electric Highway Tasmania - Queenstown Queenstown · 50 kW
- Electric Highway Tasmania - Swansea Swansea · 50 kW
- Evie Networks - Brighton Brighton · 350 kW
- Evie Networks - Campbell Town Campbell Town · 350 kW
- Evie Networks - Westbury Westbury · 350 kW
- George Town Council Chambers George Town · 75 kW
- Kingston Town Shopping Centre Kingston · 50 kW
- Multi-storey Car Park Devonport · 50 kW
- NRMA - Deloraine Elizabeth Town · 180 kW
- Paterson St East Car Park Launceston · 50 kW
- Tas Hydro Power Station Heritage Site Waddamana · 60 kW
Other states and territories
- Western Australia 392 locations
- Victoria 294 locations
- New South Wales 278 locations
- Queensland 136 locations
- South Australia 132 locations
- Australian Capital Territory 48 locations
- Northern Territory 10 locations